analytics
Restaurants Yorkshire Dales
Restaurants Yorkshire Dales
Restaurants Yorkshire Dales

Customer Reviews

The management and staff at the Castle Arms pride themselves on being considered to have created one of the best pubs in Yorkshire for visitors, but don’t take our word for it, the following reviews have been crafted by some of our many happy customers.

Tripadvisor (Oct 2018)

Book Direct on Telephone: 01677 470270 or send us an email using the form here

Restaurants Yorkshire Dales

Good Pub Guide

Welcoming homely pub in pretty village, flagstoned bar with open fire, horsebrasses on beams, straightforward ‘pubby’ furniture, ales by Banks’s, Jennings and Marstons. Well liked bar food, dining room (also flagstoned) with dark tables and chairs and another fire.

Children and dogs welcome, picnic-sets out at front and in courtyard behind. Fine walks nearby in both the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors. Accommodation available with nine bedrooms.

Read More: Good Pub Guide Reviews

Welcoming and comfortable

We stayed here overnight on our way to Scotland, and it was so good, we came back on our way south again.

Comfortable pretty rooms, friendly staff and excellent food. Hope to return with some of the family.

(October 2018)

 Relaxing break

From a very easy, welcoming check in everything was good. We were offered a free hot tea and coffee, which we had in the garden at the back of the pub.

The breakfast menu was very varied, and the cooked English breakfast was delicious. On both of the two nights that we stayed, we had dinner.

The menu was fairly extensive, and the food was good. The accommodation was clean and tidy. We would not hesitate staying here again.

(June 2018)

Late Rooms (Sept 2016)

“Really nice place room stay and very helpful staff”.

“Great place, great food! We spent one night at the Castle Arms and will definitely return! It’s in a great location – we visited forbidden corner and Lightwater valley whilst we were there.

The owners are very friendly and welcoming, and the food was amazing!”

“Great stay! Very friendly hosts,great food,both at breakfast and in the evening.Room was very nice -comfy bed,well equipped bathroom with white fluffy towels and facecloths and luxury toiletries.All set in a very pretty village complete with Castle. Would certainly recommend very highly and we will certainly return when next we visit Yorkshire.”

4x4 tour of Yorkshire

This place is great, I booked here with three friends under the direction of a 4x4 tour guide that we hired.

Rooms are great and clean and tidy, food was brilliant with a great range to choose from including accommodating my picky ( for very good reasons ) partner and her vegan no dairy stance.

Car park out the back was nice and out the way Beer selection was lovely and everybody working there was fun and nice to deal with.

I’d certainly stay there again and enjoy it as well. Top marks all round

(September 2018)

“Fantastic!”

We have just spent a night in this gorgeous pub and B&B. It was everything we wanted from the lovely cosy traditional pub with open fires and superb huge portions of traditional food to the very unique and stylish accommodation in the rear courtyard. Breakfast was very nice as were the terrific and friendly owners. The village in which it sits is equally lovely and the Castle inn provides the perfect base from which to explore the wonderful Yorkshire Dales. I would certainly return whenever in the area – a real find!!

Silver Travellers

“Now I pride myself in having a good knowledge of pubs with good food in West and North Yorkshire, but this was a new one on me, even though it is a Grade II listed, and has been around since the 14th century. It lies in the pretty village of Snape, just 3 miles from Bedale and the A1, but the road is far enough away so as to not have any effect on this tranquil spot. Swathes of daffodils adorned the verges on our visit.”

“I didn’t know about this place, but now that I do, I will definitely be back. The cat is now out of the bag, perhaps I should have kept it a secret.”

Read More: Silver Travel Advisor Reviews

First Visit

We decided to stay here as it said was dog friendly and it sure was. What a lovely quaint pub in the picturesque village of Snape. The rooms were converted stables and were exquisite with all of the comforts of home.

We ate in the pub both nights and the meals were to die for, the hosts were friendly and welcoming… will definitely visit again..

(September 2018)

Great Hospitality

Recently stayed here for 4 nights.We chose it as it ticked all the boxes and the reviews were good[ Very well justified!!].From the owners to all the staff we met the hospitality could not have been better.The rooms are converted from outbuildings at the back of the pub so nice and quiet.Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and we had some evening meals which were also very good, the fish and ships especially recommended!There is a choice of draught beer and it is well kept.

Ideally placed for visiting the Yorkshire dales and moors in a quiet pretty village 10mins from the A1.

A special mention for Janet the chef and Laura who did a great job whilst the owners were on holiday,we loved our stay.

Read More: Tripadvisor Reviews

Very Good Meal in Restaurant

Would recommend the restaurant in the Castle Arms – we had a lovely meal, fish pie and steak and ale pie – very freshly cooked.

Didn’t manage dessert or starters but they looked good. Cosy atmosphere and reasonably priced too.

Will definitely eat there again if we are in the area.

(August 2018)

Lovely Place

We had an enjoyable two night break at the Castle Arms pub in Snape on a Travelzoo deal. Snape is a pretty village, but be aware that the pub is on a parallel lane on the north side of the main road through the village, so it proved to be a little difficult to find at first.

But having found it, we received a very friendly greeting from the landlord Ian, who soon provided us with a welcoming pot of tea which we drank on the pleasant terrace at the back of the pub.

All the accommodation is in converted outbuildings around the terrace. Our room (No.2) was spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and the beds were really comfortable. One very slight niggle was the TV set which was rather small and had a constant buzz on the audio.

The pub ,which has lots of character, offers several hand pumped real ales and my husband reported that his beer was spot-on. The food at the Castle Arms was excellent too; we dined here on the first evening and items you select from the full English breakfast menu are cooked to order.

Thanks Ian and Lisa for a very pleasant break.

Before leaving Snape be sure to visit Bedale which is just a short drive (3½ miles) away. There are an amazing selection of shops lining the Market Place.

(July 2018)